Image

My experience with this project was probably one of the most challenging experiences that I have ever had with a project, but I did, however, enjoy the challenge and process of putting it together. I first had difficulty trying to conceptually portray the words that I was given through shapes. The shapes that I finally chose to represent flawed and exquisite came from my own experience with how I’ve interpreted many things that I’ve seen that look “flawed” or”exquisite”. For example, I’m used to seeing a round object in a perfect circle or oval, especially through countless math assignments. Also, the first word that comes to mind when I think of exquisite is detail. I chose to make a lop-sided round shape and a dramatic abstract from these experiences. Also for my real-life objects, the bent can looked “flawed” in my perspective, and my abstract reminded me of a dramatic bird feather, so I found an earring that I felt resembled my abstract in some way. I was glad that I was able to use mounting techniques that were new to me like the oven and the dry-mount rubber cement the class used. I also enjoyed seeing the ideas that my peers came up with, one that specifically captured my attention was Lizzie’s, whose words were strange and familiar( I  discuss her work in a separate post). This project really tested my knowledge on how difficult it can be for  one person to try to convey a word through a shape that others will understand. Overall, I enjoyed this project, and with take what I learned from it with me.